Reading List: “A Tale of Redwall: Lord Brocktree” by Brian Jacques

Something that I would like to do periodically – if for no other reason than to convey the impression that I do other things besides computer games and television šŸ™‚ – is to discuss a book that I am currently reading or a book that I have read. For this post in particular, I want to discussĀ Lord Brocktree and the Redwall book series more generally.

Lord BrocktreeĀ is currently on my list of books that I would like to re-read. It’s the only Redwall book that I have ever read, which is kind of sad. It seems like the kind of book series that I would enjoy. It feels very much like it has a Disney’sĀ Robin Hood aesthetic, not just that all of the main characters are… animal-people; the world also seems to be a fun, adventurous world that seems like it’s just a fun, high-fantasy setting. As a kid, I was much more into reading Harry Potter books,Ā Lord of the Rings, and various other book series, but for some reason I never got around to the Redwall books. I heard about it very rarely.

I think the only thing that has held me back from reading the series now is, the series is quite extensive. It gives me a lot of sympathy for people who have never gotten into Star Wars. Like Star Wars, there are a lot of books in the Redwall series and I vaguely know that there are several sub-series within the series that follow different characters. So even having read the first chronological book in the series, I still haven’t started on the Martin the Warrior series. That’s on my long-term reading list.

Have you ever read the Redwall series?Ā Do you have any other book recommendations? Share your responses in comments!

SDG,

Paladin Sioni

Leave a comment